FAQs

Search By Keyword:
(separate multiples with a comma)
Q:

Where can I find information about the Virginia homeschool laws?

A:

The Home Educators Association of Virginia website, www.heav.org, can answer all your questions about homeschooling in VA.

Q:

When is the deadline for submitting a Notice of Intent form to the division superintendent?

A:

August 15

Q:

When is the deadline for sending evidence of progress (testing, evaluation, or portfolio) to the division superintendent?

A:

August 1

Q:

Can I teach my child to drive?

A:

Yes. Read about driver education in VA at the HEAV website.

Q:

At what age can I leave my child at home unsupervised?

A:
Prince William County Child Protective Services offers the following guidelines:
  • Ages 0-8 - May not be left unsupervised
  • Ages 9-11 - No more than 1.5 hours alone - day only
  • Ages 12-15 - May be left alone all day
  • Ages 16-17 - May be left alone all night or over the weekend
Q:

At what age can an older sibling babysit a younger sibling?

A:
Prince William County Child Protective Services offers the following guidelines:
  • Ages 12-13 - May babysit children up to four hours
  • Ages 14-15 - May babysit more than four hours-not overnight or weekends
  • Ages 16-17 - May babysit children overnight or over the weekend
Q:

How do I get an Emplyment Certificate for my 14 or 15 year old teen?

A:

The process for getting an Emplyment Certificate changed in 2013. The following infomation is from the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry. You can find the forms needed here.

Employment Certificate Application Instructions

The first phase of the electronic conversion allows employers and parents to electronically access, complete, and download forms required for the issuance of an employment certificate and is effective September 9, 2013. The application for an employment certificate requires submission of two documents; a Permission for Employment form and an Employer Intent to Employ form to the Labor and Employment Law Division
The Permission for Employment form must be completed by the youth’s parent, guardian, or custodian and signed before a Notary Public.  A notary is required by law to affix a seal or stamp on every document he or she notarizes.  The stamp or seal is required to be sharp, legible, permanent, and photographically reproducible.  Many banks provide notary public services.  Only complete forms can be accepted for processing. 
The Intent to Employ form must be completed by the employer. The youth must furnish a copy of an acceptable evidence of age document.  The employer must retain and certify to the Labor and Employment Law Division the legal age for employment. The Code of Virginia §40.1-94 establishes the following as legal evidence of age documents:

  1. A birth certificate
  2. An attested transcript issued by a registrar of vital statistics or other officer charged with the duty of recording births 
  3. A baptismal record or duly certified transcript thereof showing the date of birth and place of baptism of the child
  4. Other documentary proof of age specified by the Commissioner which includes any government issued identification card such as a passport, DMV identification card, or military identification card.

Only complete forms can be accepted for processing. Faxed documents cannot be accepted. Original forms must be submitted by U.S. mail.

After completion by the appropriate parties the forms should be mailed to:
Department of Labor & Industry
Child Labor Unit
1570 E. Parham Rd.
Richmond, VA 23228-2360

The youth may not begin employment until the employment certificate is issued.  Upon approval the employment certificate will be mailed directly to the employer.