Untitled Header Image CC Brandon CC Brandon Untitled Header Image CC Brandon



What is Classical Conversations?


Classical Conversations is a homeschool community.  Parents and students meet once a week throughout the school year.  Each community consists of programs that are facilitated by a trained parent-director.  Seminars are led by trained parent-tutors who model the classical tools of learning.

Our Mission is to Know God and Make Him Known.

Our Model is to combine a biblical worldview and classical tools.

Our Method is to equip parents and encourage students.


What is Foundations? 


Foundations is a grammar-stage morning program for students K4 through 6th grade, who attend with their parents.  In these dynamic classes, tutors model the grammar-stage tools of learning:  loading the facts from a variety of interesting subjects.  In addition, students practice public speaking, do a science project, and complete an art or music project each week.

Foundations is the Grammar Stage...Knowlege...Memorize and Recite!


What is Essentials?


Essentials is a dialectic-stage program for students in approximately grades four through six.  Essentials classes meet from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m. after Foundations and a lunch break.  Tutors model the grammar and dialectic tools of learning in English grammar, writing, and math drills.  Students develop the mental skills to sort and classify facts and learn the tools they need to become effective writers.

Essentials is the Grammar and Dialectic Stage...Knowledge and Understanding...Memorize, Dialogue, and Write!


What is Challenge?


Challenges A and B are dialectic-stage programs for seventh and eighth graders.  Students become more independent and classes become more challenging.  Group discussions begin to play a larger role as students learn logic and debate.

Challenges I, II, III, and IV are rhetoric-stage programs that approximate grades nine through twelve.  Students will draw upon all their grammar and dialectic skills as they not only discuss but also learn to lead the discussions.  In these classes, students can fully express themselves in creative, meaningful, and practical applications of subjects.  Community is most important for this level of learning.

Challenge A and B...Dialectic Stage...Memorize, Dialogue, and Write!

Challenge I, II, III, and IV...Rhetoric Stage...Memorize, Dialogue, Think, Write, and Share!


What is a Cycle?


The material taught in Foundations is divided into three cycles:  one cycle per year for three years.  Each cycle consists of 24 weeks of memory work and activities.  Students who begin Foundations as an abecedarian will complete each cycle at least twice, developing greater understanding and mastery through repetition.  However, students at any learning level will benefit from learning the memory work, even if they only complete one cycle.

Cycle 1 covers ancient and world history.

Cycle 2 covers medieval to new-world history.

Cycle 3 covers U.S. history. 

All other subjects (geography, science, fine arts, etc.) correlate to these time periods. 

Cycles aren't related to a particular grade level.  Sixth graders cover the same grammar as kindergarteners but are expected to cover the material in greater depth.