Georgia Home School Law
(Summarized from O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690)
1. Declaration of Intent: Parents must submit a declaration of intent to homeschool to the State Department of Education thirty (30) days after the establishment of the home study program and by Sept. 1 every year thereafter. This declaration must include the names and ages of students, the location of the homeschool, and the beginning and end dates the parents designate as their school year.
2. Compulsory Attendance Ages: All children between his or her 6th and 16th birthday must attend school. However, a child under 6 who has attended public school for at least 20 days is also subject to compulsory attendance requirements.
3. Required days of Instruction: Length of instruction must be equivalent to 180 days of education with each school day consisting of at least 4.5 school hours.
4. Teaching Qualifications: The teaching parent must have at least a high school diploma or a GED, or the parents may employ a private tutor who has a high school diploma or GED.
5. Annual Assessments: Progress reports must be written annually and retained for three (3) years.
6. Standardized Testing: Homeschool students must take a national standardized test every three years beginning at the end of third grade. Test scores do not have to be submitted to public school authorities.
7. Academic Program of Study: A basic academic educational program must include, but is not limited to, reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science.
These points merely summarize the Georgia home school law. For the exact wording and complete details to ensure compliance, begin your own search starting with O.C.G.A § 20-2-690.