Untitled Header Image Untitled Header Image https://www.homeschool-life.com/sysfiles/member/events/events_view.cfm?memberid=370&public=0&eventid=2813090 Untitled Header Image
 

Missouri Laws/ Record Keeping


Record Keeping

The Missouri Home School law requires that you teach a minimum of 1,000 hours with at least 600 of those hours in core subjects, reading, math, social studies, language arts, and science. At least 400 hours of those 600 must occur at "the regular home school location." The school year begins on July 1st and ends on June 31th of the following year.

The law requires three basic pieces of information per home schooled child.

A plan book, diary, log, etc.: This is to keep a record of the subject taught, the actual assignment and what day or week the lesson took place.

A portfolio of the child's work: The law requires samples of the student's work. A simple way to keep these would be to periodically insert samples of work into a pocket divider in a three ring binder that also holds the daily log of hours, diary, and record of evaluations. Each divider could house two- four subjects.

Record of evaluations: This could be done in many ways, for example: chapter tests, daily grades, professional testing, periodic reviews of progress, etc.

Additionally, the law states that a daily log would be a defense to any prosecution. A daily log is a record of hours broken into subjects, core and non-core; a tally of hours per day, month and year-to-date; core hours away; etc. There are a variety of daily logs, choose one that is simple to use yet is accurate and clear in presenting the student's hourly progress.