Untitled Header Image



Florida public schools require 24 credits to graduate. A credit is defined in Florida Statute 232.2462 as "a minimum of 150 hours of bona fide instruction in a designated course of study." One-half credit is 75 hours of instruction.Probably the most common high school question is in regard to graduation requirements.

 Beginning with the 2003-2004 school year, all students scheduled to graduate in 2004 and thereafter may select one of the three graduation options listed below. Students are encouraged to consider their postsecondary education or career plan goals when selecting an option. Please remember that even if you follow these, the school board will not award your student with a diploma. The purpose here is for you to produce a portfolio and transcript, presented in lieu of a diploma, that would be acceptable for college entrance. See FL statute 232.246 to see details about these credits. You can find the Florida statutes in your local library at the reference desk.

On the Florida Department of Education website you can view graduation requirements for your student here:  http://fldoe.org/academics/graduation-requirements

Again, a credit is 150 hours of instruction. How that instruction is given in the home school setting varies widely. You do have options! The following methods are typical:

Dual enrollment is when a student is simultaneously enrolled in high school and college courses in either a community college or state university. The credits earned are counted toward both the high school diploma and either an associate degree, a vocational certificate, or a baccalaureate degree. In 1996 legislation was passed to allow registered homeschoolers free tuition, just as public and private school students have enjoyed for years.

Homeschoolers have been provided an invaluable opportunity to accelerate their education and establish a college GPA tuition-free. This is an excellent way for a student to take upper level courses that you do not feel qualified to teach and to ease the student into college life. Students must take placement tests to see if they qualify and can handle college level courses but no grade point average is required. Entrance requirements vary with colleges, so individual schools should be contacted for further information.

As of May 29, 1997, homeschooled students may apply to community college programs with merely a signed affidavit submitted by the student's parent or legal guardian attesting that the student has completed a home education program. Application and admission do not require a GED diploma or a transcript. If the student is already dual enrolled, he is exempt from the affidavit requirement.

Many scholarships are available for your teen. One scholarship offered by the state of Florida is called the Florida Undergraduate Scholars Fund. Contact the Department of Education for more information. You can read about this scholarship and others by referring to FL statute 240.402.