What Do I Need To Do?
The Home Education Act (Florida statutes 1002.41) allows a parent to home educate their children. Summarized below are the six homeschooling responsibilities outlined in the statute.
(1) Submit a Notice of Intent to your district school superintendent.
The letter of intent must be filed within 30 days of commencement. You can do this online if you live in Collier County.
Record the date that you filed your home education program. This will be considered your anniversary date and therefore your deadline to submit your annual evaluation.
(2) Maintain a Portfolio of Records.
Maintain a portfolio of records and materials with the minimum content as specified in the Florida Statute. This portfolio must be available for inspection by the Superintendent upon a 15-day written notice. Each portfolio must be maintained for two years.
(3) Make Your Portfolio Available for Inspection by the Superintendent.
Proper notice of a request to inspect your portfolio must be made in writing 15 days before the inspection.
(4) Submit an Annual Evaluation to the Superintendent.
There are 5 options that satisfy this responsibility with the superintendent.
- An individual evaluation by a Florida certified teacher.
- Any nationally normed test administered by a Florida certified teacher.
- A state student assessment test.
- A psychological evaluation.
- Any other method mutually agreed upon by the parent and the superintendent.
(5) Preserve Each Student's Portfolio for Two Years
(6) Submit a Letter of Termination
When you end your home education program for your child, submit a letter of termination within 30 days. If you live in Collier County, use the link below.