Untitled Header Image

State Facts

South Dakota

November 2, 1889 (40th state) 

The Preamble to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota:
We, the people of South Dakota, grateful to Almighty God for our civil and religious liberties, in order to form a more perfect and independent government, establish justice, insure tranquillity, provide for the common defense, promote the general welfare and preserve to ourselves and to our posterity the blessings of liberty, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the state of South Dakota.

South Dakota State Motto:
Under God, the People Rule


U.S. Senators:

Mike Rounds (R)

John Thune (R)


U.S. House of Representatives:                                                                              

Kristie Noem (R)


Governor: Dennis Daugaard

Lt. Governor: Matt Michels

Attorney General: Marty Jackley

Secretary of State: Shantel Krebs

Chief Justice: David Gilbertson

President of the Senate: Matt Michels

Speaker of the House: Val Rausch

Senate: 35 members, 6 D to 29  R

House of Representatives: 70 members, 10 D to 60 R 0 I


South Dakota State of the State Address 2010


Capitol: Pierre

Largest City: Sioux Falls

State bird: Ring-necked Pheasant

State flower: American Pasque flower

State tree: Black Hills Spruce

State nickname: Mount Rushmore State

State slogan: "Great Faces. Great Places."

State mineral: Rose quartzite

State insect: Honey bee

State animal: Coyote

State fish: Walleye

State gemstone: Fairburn agate

State song: Hail, South Dakota!


Places of Interest:


Mount Rushmore 

Custer State Park

Ingalls Homestead