Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE) Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE) Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE) Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE) Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE) Starkville Christian Home Educators (SCHE)

"And he saith unto them,'Be not affrighted: Ye seek Jesus of Nazereth, which was crucified: He is RISEN; HE is not here: behold the place where they laid Him." Mark 16:6




What are Certificate of Enrollment cards and when are they due?



Certificate of Enrollment cards are due to the Attendance Officer in your county by September 15 of each year. Mississippi law requires homeschooling parents and guardians to fill out the enrollment card and include a simple description of their home instruction plan for any child age 6 to 17 as of September 1 of the current year.

A simple description means just that. Something as simple as "We will be using age appropriate materials to teach mathematics, language arts, science, and history" is sufficient.

In 2009, a new entry was added as follows: “The Mississippi Department of Education has permission to provide a copy of this certificate to the local school district upon request.” This statement is addressed by circling a YES or NO. SCHE strongly counsels you to circle NO to preserve your privacy.

SCHE also recommends the following resource from the Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA).


How do I contact the Attendance Officer for my county? Where do I get Certificate of Enrollment cards?


Oktibbeha County


Attendance Officer: Darlene Hunt

East School

2926 16th Section Rd
Starkville, MS 39759



Lowndes County

Attendance Officer: Polly Dentry
Joe Cook Elementary School
2217 7th Street North
Columbus, MS 39705


Attendance Officer: Jewel Edwards
New Hope High School
3419 New Hope Road
Columbus, MS 39702


Attendance Officer: Sally Tate
Fairview Elementary School
225 Airline Road
Columbus, MS 39702

Clay County

Attendance Officer: Kwamarcus Stevenson


West Point High School
950 South Eshman Avenue
West Point, MS 39773


Surrounding Counties

Calhoun County

Attendance Officer: Nan Edwards

Calhoun County Courthouse
103 Main Street
Pittsboro, MS 38951

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 603
Bruce, MS 38915


Chickasaw County

Attendance Officer: Cynthia Autry

Chickasaw County Courthouse
Pinson Square 2nd Floor
Houston, MS 38851

Choctaw County

Attendance Officer: To Be Announced
662-285-4104 ext. 114

Ackerman High School
393 East Main Street
Ackerman, MS 39735

Monroe County

Attendance Officer: Kim Minich

Monroe County Government Complex
1619 Highland Drive
Amory, MS 38821

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 741
Amory, MS 38821

Noxubee County Supervisor and Acting Attendance Officer: Cheryl Mickens
Noxubee County School District
Central Office
15867 Highway 14 West
Macon, MS 39341

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 536
Macon, MS 39341


Webster &
Montgomery Counties

Attendance Officer: Dosha Dean

Winona Vo-Tech Center
300 North Applegate
Winona, MS 38967

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 910
Winona, MS 38967


Winston County

Attendance Officer: Sandra Spivey

Eiland Middle School
508 Camille Street
Louisville, MS 39339

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 15
Louisville, MS 39339

This information is the best we have at this time. If you have more current information, please Contact SCHE so we can update this page as quickly as possible.