Untitled Header Image Untitled Header Image Untitled Header Image
 

School Attendance Officers 2023-2024

County Attendance Officers

County

School Attendance Officer’s Name

Email

Phone Number

Mailing Address

City, State

Zip Code

Copiah

VACANT

         

Hinds

Teresa Coleman

tcoleman@mdek12.org

601-960-5313

186 Idlewild Street

Jackson, MS

39203

Hinds

Shi Angelia D. Copeland

scopeland@mdek12.org

769-798-4695

5677 Highland Dr

Jackson, MS

39206

Hinds

Kimberly Sims

ksims@mdek12.org

601-924-5510

400 West Northside Dr

Clinton, MS

39056

Hinds

Shakira Caston

scaston@mdek12.org

601-209-1464

1311 West Pearl St

Jackson, MS

39203

Leake

Shelia Watkins

swatkins@mdek12.org

662-266-7794

704 North Jordan St

Carthage, MS

39051

Madison

Marveline Bacon

mbacon@mdek12.org

601-665-5363

403 East Lincoln St

Canton, MS

39046

Madison

Lena Seals

lseals@mdek12.org

601-624-6770

403 East Lincoln St

Canton, MS

39046

Rankin

Kimberly Ellis

kellis@pearlk12.com

601-420-2336

500 Pirate Cove

Pearl, MS

39208

Rankin

Christina Toins

ctoins@mdek12.org

601-249-8837

1 Paw Print Place

Flowood, MS

39232

Rankin

Shealyn Salter

ssalter@mdek12.org

601-799-7911

200 Spell Drive

Richland, MS

39218

Rankin

Tanya Williams

tbwilliams@mdek12.org

601-824-5186

200 School Road

Brandon, MS

39042

Scott

Octavia Kincaid Dixon

okincaid@mdek12.org

601-469-4883

P.O. Box 1114

Forest, MS

39074

 

Disclaimer:  This page will be updated often with helpful guides and information to assist you with your homeschooling needs.  This information is NOT intended to be used without your own further research to confirm the content nor is it a complete list of guides or resources.  As the parent, it is your responsibility to conduct your own research to find the information that is most helpful to your family.  Please let us know if you find other sites or information that you believe would benefit other families.  We welcome any and all information as we work together to build a great resource page!

 

 

Homeschool Laws per state provided by HSLDA

http://hslda.org/content/laws/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=cpm&utm_campaign=Social%20Media&utm_content=HS101Paid

Specific Mississippi Requirements

http://hslda.org/content/hs101/MS.aspx?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=cpm&utm_campaign=Social%20Media&utm_content=HS101Paid

 

It is the parent's responsibility to verify their current SAO's name and mailing address before filing your Certificate of Enrollment Form in your county.  

NOTE:  It would be wise to make and keep a copy of all your completed forms with a note showing when and where you sent them.  One form for each child is required.

http://www.mde.k12.ms.us

The Office of Compulsory School Attendance Enforcement is responsible for ensuring that all Mississippi students are afforded the opportunity to attend school and to enforce the Mississippi Compulsory School Attendance Law §37-13-91 of the Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated. The law governs compulsory school attendance. It requires a parent, legal guardian, or custodian who has legal control or charge of a child aged six (6) to seventeen (17) to enroll him or her in an education program (i.e. public, private, or home school). Student enrollment must occur except under the limited circumstances specified in subsection three (3) of §37-13-91 which includes but is not limited to, sending the child to a state-approved, nonpublic, or educating the child at home in an organized educational program. July 1, 2003, the law was amended to include the following: a child, five (5) years of age, who enrolls in public kindergarten, will have to abide by the same guidelines as outlined in §37-13-91.

For MS Code 37-13-91 (see http://www.mscode.com/free/statutes/37/013/0091.htm)