Georgia's Home Study Law OCGA 20-2-690
Note: There have been changes in Georgia Home Study Law that are effective July 1. Most notably, families will no longer be required to submit their attendance reports. (Home study programs are to have 180 days so keeping track of attendance will help you comply with that requirement.) Also, the state of Georgia will be allowing home study parents to verify their child's compliance with the law as required for drivers' permits, licenses, and work permits. As soon as links are available to the new law (and the site administrator is aware of them), they will be posted here.
NEW HOMESCHOOL REPORTING LAW
There is a new reporting law for your "letter of intent and attendance form".
Starting with the 2013-2014 school year, homeschooling parents will send their letter of intent to the State Department of Education once per year instead of their local superintendent. Note: attendance forms are no longer required to be turned in. You are still expected to keep a record of attendance.
The following is from the State of Georgia, Department of Education site.
Pursuant to Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690), the following are requirements for home study programs:
- Effective July 1, 2012, parents or guardians who wish to teach their children at home in a home study program must annually submit to the Georgia Department of Education a Declaration of Intent to Utilize a Home Study Program by September 1 or within 30 days after a program is established. The Georgia Department of Education will provide for electronic submittal of the Declaration of Intent.
- The declaration must include the names and ages of the students, the address where the program is located, and the dates of the school year.
- Parents or guardians may teach only their own children in the home study program provided the teaching parent or guardian possesses at least a high school diploma or a general equivalency diploma (GED). Parents or guardians may also employ a tutor who holds at least a high school diploma or a GED to teach such children.
- The home study program must include, but is not limited to, instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science.
- The school year must include the equivalent of 180 days of at least 4-1/2 hours of instruction per day unless the child is physically unable to comply with this requirement.
- As of July 1, 2013, you are no longer required to submit attendance to the Georgia Department of Education. For driving permits or licenses all that is needed is the Declaration of Intent with a 36 character parent signature. This document replaces the Certificate of Attendance and should be submitted with all other Driver Service's required documents to obtain a driving permit or license.
- Students in home study programs shall be subject to an appropriate nationally standardized testing program administered in consultation with a person trained in the administration and interpretation of norm referenced tests. The student must be evaluated at least every three years beginning at the end of the third grade. Records of such tests shall be retained.
- The instructor shall write an annual progress assessment report in each required subject area for each student. These reports shall be retained for at least three years.